» » FIRST SERVE: USC/Los Angeles Pro Circuit begins January 1

FIRST SERVE: USC/Los Angeles Pro Circuit begins January 1

Alex Sarkissian

The first leg of the 2018 USTA Pro Circuit tour kicks off here in Southern California this week at the USC/Los Angeles $25,000 Men’s Pro Circuit Tennis Tournament, scheduled for January 1-7 at David X. Marks Stadium at the University of Southern California in downtown Los Angeles.

Find complete tournament information here and learn more about the USTA Pro Circuit here

Top-seeded Alex Sarkissian, of Glendale, Calif., leads a talented field of athletes from all across the globe, including top prospects from Great Britain, Croatia, Czech Republic, Japan, and more. Nine Americans are seeded in the Main Draw, featuring homegrown talent JC Aragone (Yorba Linda, Calif.), Alexios Halebian (Hollywood, Calif.), and Deiton Baughman (Carson, Calif.).

Sarkissian, 27, is ranked #256 on the ATP world rankings entering 2018. A pro since 2014, the former Pepperdine standout tallied an impressive summer stretch last year, winning two of three ITF events in June at China and Canada. Sarkissian was 20-5 on the ITF Futures circuit last year.

Aside from the Main Draw, the Qualifier at USC/Los Angeles will be populated by familiar names, many representing their local collegiate affiliation. Brandon Holt (USC) and Martin Redlicki (UCLA) highlight the advance bracket along with Brazilian Karue Sell (Redondo Beach), Logan Smith (Carlsbad), and Isaiah Strode (El Cajon). As many as fifteen SoCal players will appear in the Qualifier.

The nation’s top amateur recruit, reigning Easter Bowl and SCTA Sectionals champion Brandon Nakashima of San Diego, is also entered in the USC/Los Angeles Qualifer, which begins December 30 at 9am.

The Main Draw begins play on Tuesday, January 2 at 10am.

Pro Circuit competition continues the following week in Long Beach at the 2018 Legends Long Beach $25,000 Men’s Pro Circuit Tennis Tournament.


Southern California Entries

(1) Alex Sarkissian (Glendale)

(10) JC Aragone (Yorba Linda)

(19) Alexios Halebian (Hollywood)

(Q5) Karue Sell (Redondo Beach)

(Q8) Martin Redlicki (UCLA)

(Q17) Brandon Holt (Rolling Hills; USC)

(Q18) Logan Smith (Carlsbad; USC)

(Q21) Isaiah Strode (El Cajon)

(Q25) Keegan Smith (San Diego)

(Q31) Mousheg Hovhannisyan (North Hollywood; Pepperdine)

(Q33) Govind Nanda (Cerritos)

(Q38) Jake Douglas (Rolling Hills)

(Q42) Alec Adamson (Corona del Mar; UC Davis)

(Q45) Brandon Nakashima (San Diego)

(Q46) Ryan Seggerman (Coronado)

(Q47) Billy Rowe (Coronado)

(Q49) Bjorn Hoffman (Newport Beach)

(Q52) Stefan Dostanic (Irvine)