Intercollegiate Championships kick off at USC

The United States Tennis Association welcomes more than 70 college athletes from across the nation for singles and doubles competition, beginning with singles Qualifying rounds on Thursday and Main Draw beginning Friday. Doubles Qualifying begins Friday. Both championship finals will be held on Monday.

This 62nd Annual event will be played at Marks Stadium at USC, in downtown Los Angeles. Male college tennis athletes from across the nation will compete. The Main Draw top seeds are (1) Daniel Cukierman of USC and (2) Stanford’s Kameer Sumar. In doubles, Cukierman and Trojan teammate Riley Smith are top seeds, while Sumar and Cardinal teammate Timothy Sah of San Diego, Calif. are seeded second.

Participating schools include Azusa Pacific University, Brigham Young University, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, Concordia University, Loyola Marymount University, Southern Methodist University, Stanford University, Texas Tech, University of California Irvine, University of California Los Angeles (UCLA), University of California Santa Barbara (UCSB), University of California San Diego (UCSD), University of Southern California (USC), and the University of San Diego.

USC’s Daniel Cukierman

Former tournament champions include Alejandro Olmedo (USC), Arthur Ashe (UCLA), and Brad Gilbert (Pepperdine).